Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I have been using the forum to get as much information as i could about the Spyders so that i was in the best possible position to make a decision and purchase one.

On Saturday i took both an RS-S and an RT-S out for a drive to compare the two. I have to say both did not disappoint. The RS-S is very well planted and certainly has lots of "ooomph", but it was a fairly gusty drive with heavy winds and i did feel it was fairly hard work ( i've never had a bike so i'm probably a bit of a softie :). The RT-S on the other hand, is a much bigger beast, but driving the same route i felt very well planted, the wind was mostly kept at bay by the bigger windsheild and i found the drive less effort...but just as much fun. I was definitely a fan of the heated grips as well.

Anyway, as a newbie, i can see the appeal in both, and i don't think it is fair to try and suggest which is better, clearly they are aimed at different types of riders who want a different type of experience. For me, early 40s, never ridden a motorbike but wanting something to use to and from work in the good weather ( we do get some occasionaly here in the UK) and for a nice sunday drive in the countryside, the RT was definitely my preference. I also feel much more comfortable, after some practice and miles under my belt, having my wife ride on the back of the RT without fear of losing her off the back.

The bike i have purchased is brand new, but a 2011 model Black RT-S SE. It feels really stable and comfortable and has a great set of creature comforts. It will probably make a few people chuckle, but i felt like Eric Estrada (CHiPS) on my test drive, so i'm definitely going to have to get myself a badge :)