Can-Am Spyder Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a 2013 spyder RT-S SE5. Has a very bad shimmy. Want to replace all 3 tires but I keep reading bad reviews on kenda. This is my first spyder so I am very new to trying to get things done for it.

Can anyone suggest tire brands? Do dealers have a problem with you bringing your own tires to them for installation?
Any help much appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
905 Posts
Can anyone suggest tire brands? Do dealers have a problem with you bringing your own tires to them for installation?
Any help much appreciated.
Some do and some don't. Call around and ask.
Maybe 1 dealer in a hundred will even sell you a different brand of tires.

The new model of Kenda tires seem to be better than the originals.
If they are available in your size, that might be a good way to go.
Kanine is the model name.

Pretty much ANY small car tire of the right size (or very near) will be better than the original design Kendas.
Any tire place can mount and balance the fronts. Probably need a dealership to do the rear.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What does anyone think of the vee rubber arachnid for the front on a 2013 spyder rt-s se5?

·
Super Moderator
905 Posts
What does anyone think of the vee rubber arachnid for the front on a 2013 spyder rt-s se5?
Assuming that tire is made more or less specifically for the Spyder, it likely is soft and flexible.
The might mean it sticks good but doesn't wear well.
It might also mean that is tends to be a bit unstable in a straight line.

Just guesses though as I don't remember any specific reports.
If you are a "spirited" rider, it might be a good choice.

Edit: Try a google search for " vee rubber arachnid".
The ratings seem to be pretty good.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Assuming that tire is made more or less specifically for the Spyder, it likely is soft and flexible.