Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people,

I've been riding motorcycles and driving cars for over 45 years. Recently I've gotten sick and lost a lot of leg strength so I don't trust myself at stop lights with my 800 lb Harley but I still want to ride out in the open air so I just traded the Harley in on a 2011 Spyder RT A&C yesterday.

For over 45 years I've been hot roding cars and bikes, I know how to make horsepower and how to make cars and bikes handle. I have always driven vehicles that handle very well and go pretty fast.

Now I own a Spyder and I find the stability and handling to be atrocious. It wallows and wobbles all over the place. I know that some of this is due to soft springs and a soft sway bar (for a nice, soft and comfortable ride) and the very low air pressure in the front (only 15 psi) and the rear (only 25 psi). My 2004 Z06 Corvette, which has Nitto road racing tires on it runs a pretty low air pressure but it's 28 psi (the stock tires ran best at 32 psi) Most of my recent motorcycles ran around 40 psi (except my Harley, which was never tweaked for performance handling, only HP was added).

I know that stiffer front shocks and springs and a stiffer rear shock and spring will help. I also know that changing the tires will help. Possibly I would need new rims also. So I'm hoping that some of you have hi performance Can-Ams or are road racing Can-Ams and can give me some information on where to buy springs and shocks and tires and wheels. Oh, also sway bars.

I know that the RT is a touring trike with lots of luggage capacity and soft spings for comfort but that shouldn't stand in the way of making it handle great. There's plenty of acceleration for just street driving, it just needs a boost in handling.

Thanks

Rod

·
Premium Member
3,861 Posts
Hi Rodney!