Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ryders, I know I'm a noob treading well trampled ground here, and I've read many of the threads but am hoping for new insight because I've seen few solutions to the Spyder Limp Home Mode/ABS fault/VSS fault/Check DPS string of error codes, so pls. bear with me:

The bike: new to me '08 Spyder SE5, exc. condition, 26,000 mi.

Me: competent tool user -- motorcycle mechanic for 40+ years, owned a Ducati/Moto Guzzi shop in the 1980s and 90s, have owned 50 or more bikes, mostly Iatalian and Brit, along with a Beemer and a couple of Hondas: can successfuly adjust Ducati desmodromic valves, have rebuilt two dozen bevel-drive Ducati twins for customers, so above average mechanical skills, though definitely not familiar with the level of electronics found in the Spyder.

I get my new to me bike home and note it wasn't running well. Peeling off the airbox cover, I discover a large mouse housing project on the unfiltered intake side. Aha: time to address some deferred maintenance, so: new plugs; new airfilter; clean the airbox; adjust the parking brake so it holds; new fuel filter, injection line and clamps reasoning that 26K mi is long enough for the original equip.

Then I take the seemingly fatal step of adjusting belt tension from screaming tight, and belt spacing away from rubbing the inner edge of the pulley using the jack-it-up-and-idle method found on you tube. I also replaced the front brake pads, something I've done on many motorbikes and cars, and found the Spyder to be fairly straight forward...