Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys

New owner here and I just got my white 2010 limited edition RS-S model with SE5 transmission.

At 10 miles the Check DPS, VSS Fault and Limp Home Mode came on while I was out on my first ride. I had to drive home going less than 25 mph. I called the dealership and they came to my home and brought a laptop and did a diagnostic and then rest the computer system on it and he said it would never come back on. He took it out for a test as well and all was good.

Today I took it out for a second time and about 2 miles into my day out trip the same warnings come on and here I come limping back home.

I just called the dealership and demanded they replace it. Since I am a woman on a bike, and have rode crotch rockets for a while, im not a novice rider. But I explained to him I need something dependable. They said there was nothing they could do. I made a suggestion that they could take it as a trade-in and they are not happy with that. What should I do? I want to have a spyder but I feel like I have a lemon on my hands. I cannot chance riding around wondering if the check engine crap is going to hit me when im out without my husband.

Whats a girl to do? How would you handle this situation with the dealer?

· Registered
55 Posts
are you riding with your foot touching the brake and not realizing your doing it? If so this is prob the reason it's coming on. Stop the bike take the key completely out and restart the bike keep your foot off the brake and it should not come back on ever.

· Registered
303 Posts
I would suggest that you charge the battery for a few days using a good battry tender. I would also insist that the dealer re-tightens the battery connections. I have heard of this problem a a large number of RS & RT's.

You have an 2010 that has been setting around for awhile now. The computers on these roadsters are very touchy about the voltage.

· Registered
377 Posts