Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to this forum. I just bought a used 2009 RS SM5 about a week and a half ago with just over 7,000 miles on it. I'm really enjoying it, but I'm going to have to replace the rear tire next week. Previous owner must have really burned it out. I'm in Albuquerque, NM, so if there are other ryders out there in the area--please give me a shout. I'm looking for some folks locally that I can get together and ride with.

One question for the community: The previous owner did not have the scheduled 6,000 mile checks completed, but has changed the oil every 3,000 miles. It runs great, and that scheduled check costs $500. Do y'all think that is necessary, or could I just wait until 9,000 miles? He did tell me the steering recall was completed, but I'm taking his word for it.

Also, any advice for a new rider is appreciated. I'm new to motorcycles, but did complete the MSF safety course and I've done every drill in the owner's maual for new riders. I even keep cones in my trunk so I can set them up in an empty parking lot on a whim.

Thanks!
Andy

·
Registered
377 Posts
Sounds like you're doing things the right way. You're going to have fun. If I were you I would be double sure all recalls have been completed by calling the dealer. All you have to do is give them your VIN and they can tell you right away if everything is good to go. I would also notify BRP of the change of ownership. Just look in the back of your owner's manual for specifics. Do you still have any warranty left? If so I would go ahead and get the 6000 service completed. If not and everything's running fine it's up to you. David

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hey I just called the dealer--it was easy as pie. I'm missing an update on some hose/canister and they are ordering the parts. Even though I'm out of warranty it's all free. Thanks again!!

·
Registered
1,033 Posts