Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone how's it going? My name is Jin and I just recently agreed to purchase a 2009 Can Am Spyder SE5. Im actually heading down to the dealership later on this afternoon to pick up the Spyder and I have to say Im pretty excited but at the same time a little nervous as well. I'm excited because it's been over two years since amputating my lef leg above the knee that was the last time Id ridden a motorcycle. I'm a disable veteran and still currently serving active duty in the US Army, and I told myself I would never do anything that will put my body i'm danger but here I am again purchasing a motorcycle. So guys should I be nervous? I've test ridden the SE5 Spyder and I have to be honest, this is the safest thing I've ever ridden. I practically don't have to do anything with my leg except for braking and thank god I still have a right leg which I can do. But im just worry about getting struck, or cars wont be able to see me on the road and hit me and lose another limb or maybe worse, Death! But the old saying goes "once a rider, you will always be a rider." I had a CBR1000 before and never had an accident. But obviously I cant ride a two wheeler anymore because I don't have afoot to shift or a knee to stable a bike. But the Spyder is practically a "disabled " bike because I don't need yo worry about that. And I'm not a speed demon or a reckless rider so I know speed is the factor. But guys you think is a good idea after losing a limb in the time of war and hop on a motorcycle after? Or should I just enjoy the fact that im still alive and everything happened for a reason?

·
Registered
570 Posts
Jin, let me first offer a big thank you for your service to our country!

A Spyder is still a motorcycle in the fact that in a collision with a car, the motorcycle will take most of the damage. Just remember those old riding skills from your Honda and you should be fine.