Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm a newbie so please forgive me if this has been asked before. I bought a new to me 2008 GS last night and I'm have a hard time getting used to the lack of a handlebar mounted brake. I have been riding bikes for 40 some years and going for the foot brake first is just not natural. Does anyone know of a cost effective solution? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
3,861 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
brakes

I know what you mean Clicker but this is not my primary ride and a front brake lever is on every other thing I own (bike, motorcycle, snowmobile etc). This is a small price to pay to ride this machine.

·
Premium Member
3,861 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
brakes

I don't have any problem with the linked system, my FJR uses it also, it's just the natural reflex to grab the front brake(along with rear) in a panic situation. I can't be the only guy that rides multiple machines that feel this way.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Hi all,
I'm a newbie so please forgive me if this has been asked before. I bought a new to me 2008 GS last night and I'm have a hard time getting used to the lack of a handlebar mounted brake. I have been riding bikes for 40 some years and going for the foot brake first is just not natural. Does anyone know of a cost effective solution? Thanks.

Hello to all!!

I have found a solution than can be achieved for under 100 dollars if you want a simple cable in use.
As soon as I get delivery to my spyder back I will post the method of the modification and parts used.
If fact I have all ready price the parts and I am hoping to make a kit out of this for anyone who is interested.

From OZ with Love
Tony

·
Registered
504 Posts
hand brake