Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 63 years old and live in Shelby County AL. I have been an avid motorcycle rider since I was 14 and now I am considering a trike. After sitting on a Can Am Spyder Limited I think I have found what my wife and I are looking for. We enjoy going on long trips and this looks like the perfect answer. I would like to hear from owners about their experience with there Can Am's. Any problems with the local dealer in Birmingham and any advice you might want to offer. Really interested in experience with trailer towing. Also any groups in the area.

One trip we plan to make next year is the Memorial Day rolling thunder. I am a Viet Nam vet and have visited The Wall several times and now want to do it for Memorial Day. Any groups planning to make that trip I would love to hear from.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,861 Posts

·
Registered
570 Posts
My wife would not get on a 2 wheeled vehicle for anything. We even tried a Goldwing. At the first lean into the turn she would tense up and want to go straight home. We did a demo ride on a Spyder RT and she wanted the white one!

So we ended up with the RT LTD. We did a couple of short rides then did 235 miles in a single day. Except for the ride home in the 102 degree weather (we live in Phoenix, AZ) she loved the ride and was wondering when the next one would be.

I'm a big guy and used to ride a sport bike. The steering was a little touchy at first. After taking the front preload all the way up and airing the front tires to 20PSI, the ride is much better. I have no problem keeping up with cruisers and no desire to try and keep up with the sport bikes (the RT LTD is a luxury vehicle after all).

I'm planning on doing a Saddle Sore 1000 this weekend weather and fires permitting.

·
Registered
377 Posts