Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening, folks. Nice forum that you have here.

Just some background - I've been riding motorcycles since 2003. Started on a Ninja 250 and have been on sportbikes ever since. I'm currently on a 2006 Speed Triple. I also rode a trackday on my previous bike, an R6, just last year.

I do enjoy riding, but I now have two kids, and nothing makes you think more about your own mortality than having children. Coincidentally, a local sportbike forum had a thread titled "Do you consider a Can-Am Spyder a motorcycle?" which got me thinking about the Spyder as a safer riding alternative...

I've read the threads started by Vhayne and TiltTheHorizon that were quite helpful, but can anyone else chime in a bit more on the sportbike to Spyder switch? Since I mentioned track days, has anyone taken their Spyder to the track? I presume that I'd have to take it to a car track day (as opposed to a motorcycle track day)?

I assume that you are limited to Can-Am dealers for servicing/technical issues, as opposed to local bike shops that have no manufacturer affiliations. Or am I wrong about that?

I use the Triple to commute, short backroad jaunts and longer trips into the mountains. I'd use the Spyder the same. Like a couple of other folks, I'm not thrilled with the Spyder's somewhat limited range re: fuel mileage, but my Speed Triple doesn't have great range either so I could live with it, I suppose.

I'd definitely choose the GS/RS manual models. I prefer a sportbike crouch and shifting manually.

I also note that I'd sell the Triple to get a Spyder, so the "best of both worlds" option will NOT be available to me. Sigh...

At any rate, if anyone could provide some feedback, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
27 Posts