Can-Am Spyder Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 23 years experience riding a 2 wheeler but haven't ridden in almost 19 years. I just bought a 2014 RT Limited with 252 miles on it. So I think the bike is totally cool and my wife lives it. I mean she is the queen of queens sitting on the back of this thing. My old bike (1100 Yamaha Virago with a small back rest for her). Anyway even though I haven't ridden for 19 years I find myself going for the front break every now and then and low and behold, it's not there. The main things that is freaking me out is the curves, imperfections of the road surface and the wind. Turns are easy because you are going slow. I find that when I'm on a curve the bike is trying to throw me off (so much that I find myself pressing my knees into the body of the bike). I understand the physics and leaning really helps, but when I do I feel that I don't have as good of control of the throttle and because my breaking foot is supper planted I don't feel that I could break fast if I had to. Some roads are not level and of course the Spyder will pitch with the road. With a 2 wheeler, you are always upright. The problem I have with the wind also applies to the curves and uneven roads and that is that the steering is soooooo sensitive. I mean even at 45 or 50 if I just slightly turn the handles bars, the bike just goes in that direction a bit more than I would like and I am afraid of over steering . I'm thinking/hoping that as I get miles under by belt I will adapt. I will be 60 in January and have only rode this for about 200 miles. The first 50 miles when I rode it home was scary. Almost all heavy traffic and I had no idea what I was doing. Anyway any tips or thoughts would be very much appreciated.

·
Registered
8 Posts