Coolant Question - Can-Am Spyder Forums: The Y-factor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-24-2011, 04:55 PM Thread Starter

Coolant Question

I am new to the Spyders ( well Motorcycles period ) ..

So, as I read about the SPAL Kit and Engine Temperatures, I found myself asking the question, Since I have raced on tracks in High temperatures and I am located in the High Desert where our Outside temps hit 110+.

" Water wetter works on my Aluminum Block cars to bring down my Coolant Temp 20 (+/- 5 ) Degrees w/ faster cooling. I wonder if this would work on this V-Twin Motor? "

So, has anyone tried this or heard of this? For Summer use only, of course.

Any Ideas or Suggestions, Besides Modifying the OEM Fan setup?

Thanks!
Marc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-24-2011, 06:09 PM

D&D, don't see how it could hurt anything. I noticed mine getting in the upper side of the white today when temps were in high 90's. Normally it stays about midway.

PS: FWIW, I once had a 2 cycle water cooled Rotax 65 hp on an ultralite plane and it was running hot. Tried some high priced brand of majic cooler and it didn't help at all. Some old fellow emailed, said he didnt know a thing about my motor, but he did know that if you reduced the anti-freeze to about 10% it would run cooler. I did, and it did. Told several others who also had success with that. Of course, come winter we put it back up to 50-50. Perhaps thiw would work on the Can Am Rotax as well.

Last edited by ulflyer; 06-24-2011 at 06:14 PM.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-27-2011, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

I am going to give it a shot this weekend.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-28-2011, 05:22 AM

Drift N Dragg let us know if it works I seem to be running hotter than I like but it's my first summer with this bike and it has been a hot one here in the south.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-28-2011, 08:45 AM